Question types

Start with

Question limit

of 29 available terms

Print test

20 Matching questions

  1. Vijnanamaya Kosha
  2. Anahata
  3. Jalandhara Bandha
  4. Muladhara
  5. Ujjayi
  6. Maya
  7. Pingala
  8. Anandamaya Kosha
  9. Vajrasana
  10. Manomaya Kosha
  11. Vishuddha
  12. Kosha
  13. Chakra
  14. Annamaya Kosha
  15. Atman
  16. Bandhas
  17. Kapalabhati
  18. Pranamaya Kosha
  19. Uddiyana Bandha
  20. Sahasrara
  1. a Inner most layer. Ananda means "bliss". Not associated with sensory - independent of emotion, stimuli and thought. State of total contentment, peace and joy. Relationships change, become more fulfilling, and more joyous.
  2. b The outer layer: body. Anna meaning food. Refers to our physical being: what we can touch and feel. Most tangible. Develop sense of detachment or our body, enables us to progress inward during meditation.
  3. c Ego / Intellect layer. Vijnana means "to know deeply or intensely". Manifests wisdom - not just intellectual knowledge. Enabling introspection and insight. See things as they are, not as they appear. Serious meditation helps.
  4. d Reference to the essential self
  5. e Twirls around sushumna, base to the crown, intersecting at each chakra. Begins and ends on the right. Warm, motivating and masculine. Controls our physical process. Determines the state of physical, mental and spiritual development.
  6. f Pranayama technique. Big passive inhale with short, powerful exhales. Helps eliminate stress and negative emotions. Known as the Cleansing Breath. Good digestion and circulation.
  7. g
    It is a kneeling position sitting on the heels. It is similar to Hero Pose but there is one major difference: in Hero Pose, the feet are separated and the buttocks are on the floor.In Thunderbolt Pose, the heels are together with the buttocks resting on top of them.
  8. h Throat chakra - at the throat. Quality of detachment. Compassion grows, relationships improve. Feeling of remorse and guilt dissolve. Awareness of oneness with the universe. Thyroid gland, lungs and entire respiratory system.
  9. i Chin lock. Jal means "net" or "mesh" and refers to the nadis. Dhar means "hold or restrain". Clears confusion, calms the mind and relieves anger and stress. Inhale deeply and hold. Bow head, locking chin. Arms are straight, shoulders are raised and thrusted forward. Held for as long as comfortable. Release by exhaling, relaxing shoulders, raising chin and leveling head.
  10. j 7 centers of consciousness - invisible and formless - along the spine. Transmit prana throughout the body and mind. Awakening them helps restore and maintain inner balance.
  11. k Root chakra - base of the spine. Quality is innocence, enables us to know pure, unconditional happiness. Adulthood robs us of direct knowledge, though never truly lost. Functioning of kidneys, blood, muscles.
  12. l Veil of illusion. The Divine in us is hidden by maya. Maya makes us perceive things as other than what they really are.
  13. m Energy layer: Prana / life force flows through the body. Can't see it but can feel it in vibration of breath. How prana flows depends on the balance between mind, body and spirit.
  14. n Restraints or locks which prevent prana from moving / flowing. Physically, emotional or mental imbalances causes the energy to not flow freely. Clearing / regulating the flow helps resolve. Three main bandhas used: Jalandhara, Uddiyana, and Mula.
  15. o Heart chakra - at the sternum. House of the self / divine consciousness. Rise above ego and conditioning, draw's closer to one's true self, emanating love, compassion and goodwill towards others. Lungs, heart, thymus gland and circularity system.
  16. p Abdominal Lock or Fly-up. Exercising the abdomen and diaphragm muscles. Prana flows upward from tummy to chest. Stimulates the manipura chakra (solar plexus). Inhale fully. Strong exhale, empty lungs and contract abdomen. Relax the abdomen and expand chest. Draw abdominal and organs upward; navel up the spine. Active Jalandhara. Hold for 15-30 seconds. Repeat 3 or more times.
  17. q Crown chakra. Above the head. Final stage in the evolution of consciousness. All qualities come together. Ultimate reality. Brain, pineal gland and central nervous system.
  18. r The 5 layers that cover the Atman / inner self.
  19. s Pranayama technique. Ocean sounding breathing. Back of throat constricted. Helps with concentration, awareness and generates internal heat.
  20. t Mind layer: manas meaning mind. The brain, spinal cord, nerves, and sensory faculties. Finds expression in our thoughts, feelings and responses. Sense of attachment and being different from others.